The feast of Our Lady of Mount Carmel 1958 , Marked a new epoch in the history of the CMC . It was on this memorable day that the zealous CMC missionaries of Ernakulam Archdiocese ventured out into the North. The first call for mission work came from Msgr. Alban Swabrick O.F.M Cap, the first prefect Apostolic of Jalandhar, who invited us to Jalandhar. Mother Agnes, the Mother General of Ernakulam boldly accepted the call and took up the challenge. A convent was erected at Jalandhar under the name St.Josephs convent. Sr.Angel Mary was the first Superior and the other members were Sr.Celine, Sr.Alfred and Sr.Reena. This was the first house of the CMC sisters to be founded outside Kerala and it was hailed as the landmark in the Congregations development outside the home state.

Disregarding the rigorous climate, problems of language, culture etc. the pioneer missionaries sowed a seed which sprouted in time, spreading its branches to different parts of India. More and more missionaries willingly came forward to serve in areas where the message of love of Christ had not reached, As members increased , the zealous missionaries were goaded to wider apostolic activities . Slowly convents were founded in other parts of Punjab like Ferozpur (1967). Hoshiarpur (1972) . The burning love for Christ inspired the missionaries to extend their presence and service to other diocese like Bijnor, Rajkot , J&K , Meerut and Shimla Chandigarh and they responded to the call for the direct evangelization of India. Schools ,hospitals and dispensaries, special school for the mentally retarded children and tailoring centres are run bythe sisters. Village work is undertaken regularly with great zeal and development of the underprivileged and empowerment of women are taken up effectively. Proclamation of the word is done in an organized way. All these have changed the face of villages economically culturally, socially and spiritually.

In view of the rapid progress made in the missions the Pushparam mission region , named after St.Little Flower the patroness of the mission, was formed in 1982. It was given the status of a province and its inauguration took place on 16th July 1986. Sr.Ricci was the first provincial of the first mission Province of the CMC.

At present Pushapram has 31 convents (Jalandhar 9 , Bijnor 5, Jammu 5, Meerut- 3 Shimla Chandigarh -3, Rajkot 4, Ernakulam -1, Delhi- 1)

Powered By SMCIM